Editorial, Volume 5.1, Fall 2019

Everyone who lives experiences suffering. We all carry wounds, whether they be physical, emotional, or spiritual. Yet faith affirms that “there is a balm in Gilead, to make the wounded whole.” Music and the arts, prayer and worship, can touch our wounds and open the way to healing. This issue of The Yale ISM Review invites us to explore this reality. What is healing? What forms does it take? How can the arts help to heal our broken world?

We hope that you will find this issue both thoughtful and thought-provoking. If you like what you see, please share this publication with others! Subscription is free and open to all.

Rita Ferrone, editor
December 12, 2019

Editorial, Volume 4.2 Fall 2018

We are delighted that you have come to visit us today. Our fall issue centers on the theme of the Beatitudes, a classic text of the Christian tradition taken from Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount in the Gospel according to Matthew. At once challenging and inspiring, the Beatitudes raise many questions: What does it mean to be blessed? Who are the blessed? Do we really find blessing in poverty and meekness, purity of heart, hunger for justice, peacemaking, persecution? How does one live into the vision held forth by the Beatitudes? We hope that by exploring these questions along with our contributors, you may arrive at new insights that will enrich your experience of sacred music, worship, and the arts. If you like what you see here, please share this publication with others. Subscription is free of charge and open to all.

Rita Ferrone, editor

November 28, 2018

Editorial V.4.1

 

To Our Readers,

Each year, The Yale ISM Review selects a theme drawn from human experience, and asks how sacred music, worship, and the arts illuminate and interact with this theme. The theme of our current issue is poverty—not the sort of spiritual poverty that means simplicity and freedom from material things, but the harsh reality of deprivation and want. Read on to discover how artists, poets, musicians, and liturgists have used their craft to “speak a new word” in a world where poverty and injustice too often reign.

If you like what you see, share this publication with others! Subscription is absolutely free and open to all. Thank you for visiting us today.

—Rita Ferrone, editor
February 14, 2018

Editorial V3.1

To Our Readers,

Christmas, one of the great feasts of the Christian calendar, has been shaped and inculturated in innumerable ways through the centuries. What does it celebrate, and how does it do that? This issue of The Yale ISM Review takes up these questions and provides insights and some surprising answers—in music, art, literature, and liturgy.

Thank you for visiting us today. If you like what you see, subscribe! Subscription is absolutely free and open to all.

~ Rita Ferrone, Editor

November 1st, 2016

Editorial V2.1

To Our Readers:

We are pleased to present the Fall 2015 issue of The Yale ISM Review. Published by Yale Institute of Sacred Music, the Review is a biannual, open-access online publication serving practitioners in the fields of sacred music, worship, and the related arts. You are invited to join us for stimulating discussions, enriched by contributions from Yale faculty and others who are leaders in their fields.

Our current issue is organized around the theme of water—that basic human element that plays such an important role in our lives, and thus appears in worship and the arts in myriad ways.

Thank you for visiting us today. If you like what you see, subscribe! Subscription is absolutely free and open to all.

~ Rita Ferrone, editor
November 15, 2015

Editorial V1.2

 

Our spring issue of The Yale ISM Review is devoted to the Passion of Jesus Christ. In it we have collected examples of how this central mystery of the Christian faith has inspired and continues to inspire music, art, literature, homiletics, liturgy, and devotion. You will also find in these pages contributions that wrestle with ethical and theological questions surrounding the Passion. Our hope is that what we have been able to offer here will inform, stimulate, and enrich your own response to the sacred story and the works that depict it.

The Yale ISM Review is published by Yale Institute of Sacred Music. It is a biannual, open-access online publication serving practitioners in the fields of sacred music, worship, and the related arts. Thank you for visiting us today. If you like what you see, subscribe! Subscription is absolutely free and open to all.

~ Rita Ferrone, editor

April 2, 2015

 

Editorial

We are pleased to present a new venture: The Yale ISM Review. Published by Yale Institute of Sacred Music, it is a biannual, open-access online publication serving practitioners in the fields of sacred music, worship, and the related arts. You are invited to join us for stimulating discussions, enriched by contributions from Yale faculty and others who are leaders in their fields.

Our inaugural issue is organized around the theme of song — that deeply human expression so important to worship, yet also fragile and needing care if it is to flourish. The theme of song is reflected here through music, poetry, art, and prayer; in these pages you will discover connections between song and human health, philosophy, architecture, and more.

Thank you for visiting us today. If you like what you see, subscribe! Subscription is absolutely free and open to all.

~ Rita Ferrone, editor
November 19, 2014